The state of South Carolina is making a small change next month, but the change will have a big effect on many residents, as it raises the legal age of what is considered a juvenile to 18 years old.
Currently, anyone 17 years and younger in South Carolina is considered a child or juvenile, according to the law.
Next month, on July 1, the law will raise the juvenile age limit from 17 to 18.
In June 2016, the bill containing the "Raise the Age Law" was passed through the S.C. Statehouse and signed by then Gov. Nikki Haley.
It was ratified on June 2, 2016, and approved on June 6, 2016.
The Raise the Age Law is thought to be a viable solution to decrease the number of teens being held in South Carolina prisons with adult offenders, according to information stated within the bill.
Once the law is implemented, a person must be at least 18 years or older in order to be tried as an adult.
Implementation was delayed on the law until this year, as the state had to ensure the necessary funds were available before moving forward.