Over the past month, several local rising high school seniors received the West Point Leadership Award for their demonstrated dedication to the principles of the United States Military Academy. Sponsors of the award are the West Point Society of Columbia and the West Point Parents Club of South Carolina.

The award is designated to honor not only exceptional academic performance, but also the attributes of leadership, character, community service and athletic achievement by the award recipient, regardless of military interest. The recipients receive a certificate from the United States Military Academy announcing their award. Their names are engraved on plaque prominently displayed in the high school.

The following local students who were recognized with the West Point Leadership Award in the local area: Sophia C. Nance, Aiken High School; Hector Jamal Lopez, South Aiken High School; John Eaves, Silver Bluff High School; Sarah J. Zorn, Midland Valley High School; Micah Goforth, Storm Thurmond High School; Erin K. Harrison, Fox Creek High School; Quameshia Gantt, Ridge Spring-Monetta High School; Blakely S. Johnson, Jefferson Davis Academy; Johniya Bynem, Wagener-Salley High School; Jackson R. Poole, North Augusta High School; Christopher M. Cox, Barnwell High School; Stephanie L. Muniel, Aquinas High School.