The Aiken Technical College Foundation hosted its 14th annual Scholarship Benefactor and Recipient Breakfast last week to bring together ATC student scholarship recipients and the generous benefactors who made the scholarships possible.

Support from benefactors allowed for more than 120 scholarships totaling almost $100,000 to be awarded to ATC students for the 2013-2014 academic year.

“The generosity of our scholarship benefactors goes a long way in removing financial barriers from our students' education and ensuring that they have the resources to be successful in their studies,” said ATC President Dr. Susan Winsor.

American Association of University Women scholarship recipient VeNoya Lovett thanked those who made her scholarship possible and promised to continue to work hard and make them proud.

“A scholarship to me is giving me access to a brighter future. A scholarship to me is knowing that help is there when I need it,” Lovett said.

Steven Waller, WSI-SRS scholarship recipient, and Dakota Swearingen, Sen. Greg and Betty Ryberg STEM scholarship recipient, also gave speeches about their experiences at ATC and expressed gratitude for the positive impact their scholarship support has had on their education.

In the 2013-2014 academic year, a new scholarship was established by Lana Truitt in memory of her husband, Dr. Thomas Truitt. The first two recipients of the Dr. Thomas Truitt Scholarship for Expanded Duty Dental Assisting students, Casey Fulmer and Hannah Boatwright, were recognized along with Ms. Truitt at the annual breakfast.

For more information about scholarships or to learn how to contribute, contact Mary Commons, ATC Foundation Director at 803-508-7413.