At Aiken Technical College's awards night on Thursday, Faith Moore was recognized for several top honors during the ceremony.

Moore was announced as the winner of the George H. “Buck” Grant award in appreciation of her potential to enhance the image of the college after graduation next month.

She also received the Student Service Award for her volunteer contributions to the college, the student body and the community. Moore also was recognized as the Student Government president – joined by Vice President Angela Thomas, Secretary Ieshia Abney and Treasurer Mallory Harmon. Jeremy Hargis and Moore received the Phi Theta Kappa Award as the president and vice president, respectively.

Outstanding student award winners were Jeremiah Thayer, Amanda Rice, Sabrina Flanders, Joshua Jones, Courtney Wise, Carrie Shivel and Marilyn Manson.

In a speech to the students, the student development dean, Dr. Vinson Burdette, said their efforts and successes are well-known on campus, where they can find support and encouragement.

Technical advances over the past generation have provided new opportunities, he said, but they “have tested character and integrity” through identity theft, hacking and cyber-bulling. Burdette cited the perception of Albert Einstein, who noted technology has exceeded a sense of humanity.

“The need for civility is as great as ever,” Burdette said.