Aiken Technical College’s Training and Business Development Division honored more than 150 students last week who completed a variety of training programs and courses during a recognition ceremony on campus.

Students who completed programs in the following fields were recognized: central sterile supply technician, certified nursing assistant, dialysis technician, electrocardiogram technician, electronic health records, emergency medical technician, patient care technician, perioperative nursing, pharmacy assistant, phlebotomy technician, veterinary assistant and welding.

“We are very proud of the accomplishments of our students,” said Steven Simmons, ATC dean of Training and Business Development. “Many of these students have returned to the classroom for the first time since high school and are pursuing educational opportunities that will prepare them for a new career and a new life. The recognition ceremony is designed to celebrate their achievements.”

Students received certificates marking the completion of their programs, as well as pins bearing the names of their respective fields to be worn proudly on their uniforms once they enter their professions.

Aiken County Emergency Medical Services coordinator Harvey Jay served as the ceremony’s guest speaker. Jay, an ATC graduate, offered his congratulations and words of advice to the students.

“As you get ready to start your careers, have a passion for what you’re doing, love what you’re doing and be proud of what you’re doing,” Jay said. “You can do and accomplish anything.”

In addition to Jay, speakers at the recognition ceremony included TBDD Operations Manager Yolanda Drayton, ATC President Susan Winsor, ATC Dean of Health Sciences Hermecender Walton and Vice President of Education and Training Gemma Frock.

The division offers a variety of training programs and courses as part of a lifelong learning process. The programs are available to the general public, businesses and industry through short and long courses, seminars, workshops and conferences on the ATC campus or at company sites.

Those honored during the Training and Business Development Division Fall 2012 Recognition Ceremony

Perioperative Nursing

Felicia Lurry

Kimberly C. Meriweather

Debra O. Morton

Tia P. O’Brien

Harmony A. Schexnayder

Tracy Tootle


Kelly A. Allen

Amanda B. Anderson

Keeley R. Atkinson

Deirdre L. Balde

Judi O. Baxley

Jacqueline L. Bettis

Keri L. Bontrager

Ashley N. Brown

Amanda L. Buckner

Sarah E. Chambers

Freeman C. Coleman

Jeannine L. Corbett

Sharon C. Council

Melinda S. Cunningham

Lacie N. Doolittle

Tekuillia K. Dunbar

Jennifer A. Fleming

Laporsha S. Gleaton

Latasha D. Griffin

Shauntea H. Gunter

Tamiko L. Harris

Zekia D. Jackson

Lindsey N. Jackson

Shameka N. Johnson

Cortenya Johnson

Angela Kennedy

Debra A. Kirkland

Anne Marie B. Klejs

Marenda N. Lanier

Cathy L. Laws

Bengi Leal

Haley Locklair

Sondra R. McCutchen

Kilee N. McKie

Adena R. Moore

Diane E. Odom

Rochell C. Porcher

Taneka R. Priester

Shalesia N. Ready

Chiquitta L. Robinson

Dominick A. Roselli

Dominique L. Smith

Marcia M. Stygar

Janetta M. Tolbert

Haleigh R. Trew

Kathleen S. Wellman

Amber J. Weston

Patricia A. Wilkins

Certified Nursing Assistant

Angelita Adriano

Kimberly S. Birnbrick

Won Gin J. Bowman

Brantley E. Broome

Shareca L. Calhoun

Wanda S. Carroll

Sheila Carter

Sarah E. Chambers

Sharon C. Council

Erica W. Cribb

Myrlean J. Curry

Shawanda V. Eubanks

Mylen A. Gilbert

Terra L. Ginyard

Eric L. Glanton

Tiffany M. Gurnee

Gloria K. Hammond

Shymeare Hawkins

Inez L. Head

Veronica L. Hege

Ashley B. Helmuth

Tarsha L. Holmes

Timothy Hudson

Alicia M. Ingram

Dora L. Knipher

Willa Lowry

Zoee C. Lux

Kayla A. Lynch

Hope Madison

Marena J. Massey

Shanrita Mathis

Christina K. McConnell

Tabitha C. Moody

Britney M. Moore

Donna Paslay

Takarra J. Pierce

Patricia Rayo

Samantha N. Roberts

Sabrina L. Rouse

Steven A. Scharber

Rosa L. Washington

Austin D. Wiley

Central Sterile Technician

Laura Downs

Marzie D. Harris

Darian M. Lord

Augustine S. Mims

Natasha D. Williams

Robin M. Williams

Electrocardiogram Technician

Madeleine Bull

Staci Bunch

Trenisha Dennis

Sherry Freeman

Cheronda Graham

Tyisha Guest

Kameko Hamilton

Shantel R. Jackson

Ntozake Johnson

Perlisha Pryor

Monica Shorts

Montez Tolin

Tanesha L. Tomlin

Haleigh R. Trew

Jessica L. White

Denica Williams

Electronic Health Records

Laquita N. Baxley

Jessica M. Bell

Amy B. Bush

Tiana M. Coach

Caroline R. Funderburg

Gwen F Ginyard

Carla T. Hackney

Melinda J. Holcombe

Lisa S. Hutto

Beth Johnson

Samantha J. Miles

Erin N. Nappier

Jami Odom

Ellen R. Toomer

Sharon Woods

Eden N. Wooten

Veterinary Assistant

Katelyn M. Dubose

Christin Foster

Shellie R. Lindsay

Amber M. Thomas

Christina J. Wheeler

Dialysis Technician

Rachel A. Brown

Theresa L. Brown

Sandra D. Highsmith

Chanta L. Hill

Tina L. Snipes

Vicki Spires

Kristina M. Westbrook

Emergency Medical Technician

Amanda D. Bazzle

Charles P. McGahee

Cameron C. McCaslin

John C. Medlin

Steven R. Moore

Jason C. Sikes

Tyler B. Vines

Leah Watson

Caroline C. Wheatley-White

Courtney L. White

Mathew A. Wyckof


Jerod D. Anderson

Robert J. Bentley

Marcus W. Blizzard

Terry L. DeLoach

Nakia Drumming

Taylor B. Gann

Ric H. Goolsby

Jone J. Guillen

Brandon L. Kirkland

Ron Liccardi

Steven W. Loftin

David C. Price

Kristopher Rachels

Austin A. Ridley

Craig E. Roberts

Joel R. Wightman

Marco A. Williams

Pharmacy Technician

Paisley H. Andreen

Laporche C. Hood

Kateiina MacHova

Nia E. Sullivan

Paul D. Williams

Tiffany R. Williams