Nine USC Aiken students have been named first year scholar recipients of the URS/SRR Engineering Scholars program.

The first year scholarship recipients are as follows: Tamarra Anderson of Graniteville, Kendall Bell of Columbia, Cody Clester of Trenton, Jake Corbin of Beech Island, Max Hall of North Augusta, Nicole Holmes of Beech Island, Jackson Jones of Clearwater, Zachary Smith of Williston and Steven Coffey of North Augusta.

The program provided a $2,500 renewable scholarship each year for academically talented students that have declared engineering as entering freshmen. The second year scholarship recipients continuing from last year are as follows: Lewis Arthur of Graniteville, Jason Barber of Aiken, Matthew Harvey of Wagener, Jordan Justus of Gaston, Ryan Michael Rafanan of Aiken, Keith Smith of Graniteville, Ryan Ward of Columbia and Jonathan Kyzer of Gilbert.

The program will also coordinate with USC Columbia, allowing the students to retain the scholarship when they transfer from USCA to USC Columbia’s College of Engineering and Computing if they maintain a high academic standard.

“We are excited and proud to partner with URS and SRR to support an engineering education for our students,” said USCA chancellor Dr. Sandra Jordan. “We appreciate this scholarship program because it supports students in the math and sciences, while cultivating the next generation of engineers.”

“URS is a strong advocate of education particularly in the STEM areas. Being able to give a boost to the educational path for our future leaders in the engineering field through the Engineering Scholars Program is a benefit to our corporation and our industry,” said Keith Wood, Director of Public Affairs at URS. “We are delighted to have exceptional institutions like the University of South Carolina in Aiken and Columbia who have outstanding STEM curriculums to partner with in our endeavor to produce innovative engineers with a solid technical foundation. We send our congratulations to this year’s Engineering Scholars.”

9 USCA students awarded by URS, SRR