Write-in vote count for Treasurer begins; Cagle in lead

  • Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2012 11:25 a.m.
    UPDATED: Wednesday, November 7, 2012 4:34 p.m.

Aiken County Election officials now are counting the write-ins for the county’s race for treasurer.

All candidates in the race were write-ins, leading to a delay in getting final reporting numbers.

Absentee ballots have been counted, and the results from that count show John Cagle in the lead with 163 votes, followed by Jason Goings (116), Angela Gunter (106), Melissa Oremus (80), Robin Saylor (65), Debra Folk (57), Sonya Spray (31), current treasurer Linda Sharpe (28), Francis Pennington (20) and Mike Wheelis (10).

Check back to the aikenstandard.com for full results when all of the ballots are counted. Full results expected later this evening or tomorrow morning.

Comments { }

Commenting rules: Do not post offensive, racial or violent messages. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the commenter, not www.aikenstandard.com. Click 'report abuse' for any comments that you feel should be removed from the site. However, www.aikenstandard.com is not obligated to remove any comment posted on the site. Moderators do not have the ability to edit comments. Read the terms of use.