Aiken Standard continues its November general election coverage today with breakdowns of the Aiken County treasurer and sheriff races, as well as a profile of Second Circuit Solicitor J. Strom Thurmond Jr.

The race for treasurer, in particular, has been a turbulent one since May when, along with hundreds of other people seeking elected office statewide, the four women who filed to run for the position were kicked off the primary ballot.

The next option for the four – Sonya Spray, Debra Folk, Robin Saylor and Angela Gunter – was to gather enough signatures from registered voters across the county to run as petition candidates. None collected enough signatures.

So, the only available option left to them and the rest who were decertified yet could not or did not complete a petition is to run as a write-in candidate.

As a result, voters will see a blank field under the title of “County Treasurer” on the electronic ballot in November. In order to enter the candidate of their choice, voters must tap with their finger “write-in.” A standard QWERTY keyboard will appear on the screen, and the voter will type in the name of the person they want to take the seat.

Joining Spray, Folk, Saylor and Gunter as write-in candidates for treasurer are Melissa Oremus, John Cagle, Ed Smith and Jason Goings.

The Aiken County Treasurer serves a four-year term contiguous with the fiscal year. The winner of the election will take office in July 2013.

Aiken County Sheriff incumbent Michael Hunt faces opposition from write-in candidate Jim Vause.

Vause was also decertified from the primary.

A person running for sheriff must meet several specific qualifications, including having at least a high school degree and serving a minimum number of years based on experience as a certified law enforcement officer.

Vause is a 25-year veteran with the U.S. Army and a 35-year veteran of law enforcement.

Hunt’s name will appear on the electronic ballot; Vause’s will not. To vote for Vause, a person must tap “write-in” under the title “Sheriff” and type in his name.

The Sheriff serves a four-year term.

Solicitor Thurmond Jr. was first elected in 2008 after the retirement of former Solicitor Barbara Morgan. A solicitor serves a four-year term.

The general election is Nov. 6.